Industrial Base Alpha

Fluor Marine Propulsion wins $2.41B Navy nuclear propulsion modification

•1 min read•Analysis
A Los Angeles-class attack submarine running surfaced, isolated on a plain sand background.
U.S. Navy photo by Petty Officer 1st Class Brian Reynolds (public domain). Rights basis: public_domain_usgov
Mentioned:Fluor Corporation$2.4B · Contract Award

Fluor Marine Propulsion was awarded a $2.409 billion cost-plus-fixed-fee modification to an existing U.S. Navy contract for Naval Nuclear Propulsion Program work at the Naval Nuclear Laboratory. The modification, issued September 24, 2026, expands authorized work supporting nuclear-powered aircraft carriers and submarines.

What's happening

  • Fluor Marine Propulsion received a $2.409 billion cost-plus-fixed-fee modification to contract N0002418C2130 from Naval Sea Systems Command on September 24, 2026.
  • Work spans three Naval Nuclear Laboratory locations: Pittsburgh (47%), Schenectady (45%), and Idaho Falls (8%).
  • The modification supports research, development, design, testing, training and technical infrastructure for the Navy's nuclear propulsion systems.

Why it matters

  • The modification sustains engineering capacity and technical infrastructure required to maintain the Navy's nuclear-powered aircraft carrier and submarine fleet.
  • Concentration of 92% of work in Pittsburgh and Schenectady ensures sustained production capability at two major Naval Nuclear Laboratory facilities.
  • The cost-plus-fixed-fee structure protects Navy interests while supporting continuity of critical nuclear propulsion program operations.

Financial impact

  • At time of modification award, the Navy obligated $597,900 in fiscal 2026 funding: $582,062 in operations and maintenance and $15,838 in shipbuilding and conversion funding.
  • The $2.409 billion modification expands the total authorized contract value and will be recognized as revenue over the period of performance under cost-plus-fixed-fee terms.
  • Revenue recognition timing and full period of performance not disclosed.

The fine print

  • This is a modification to a previously awarded contract; the total contract ceiling value and original award date are not disclosed.
  • Only $597,900 was obligated in fiscal 2026, representing approximately 25% of the modification value, indicating staged funding approach.
Source: Pulse 2.0 · Sep 24, 2026 · Drafted with Claude, reviewed by Industrial Base Alpha.

Related stories