Kratos Defense & Security Solutions and GE Aerospace ignited the first GEK800 turbofan engine, now designated F143, at the X-58 test facility. The engine has logged more than 50 ground test starts since development began in 2023.
What's happening
- Kratos and GE Aerospace achieved first ignition of GEK800 Serial Number 1 at the X-58 test facility, opening a new test campaign.
- The engine, redesignated F143, produces 800 pounds of thrust for long-range cruise missiles and uncrewed systems.
- The companies report more than 50 ground test starts completed across their facilities to date.
- Both companies cite a 100 percent success rate for the initial ignition phase.
Why it matters
- The engine gives the Air Force a second propulsion source for JASSM, reducing single-vendor risk on a key standoff missile.
- Successful ignition supports program timelines as the Air Force pushes toward higher-rate cruise missile production.
- AFRL backing plus joint industry investment shows government interest in diversifying missile propulsion supply chains.
Going deeper
- Kratos and GE Aerospace have jointly developed the GEK800 since 2023 with AFRL support and internal funding.
- Altitude testing at Purdue University's Zucrow Laboratories in 2025 validated the engine's architecture under the TMRR phase.
- The engine won an Engineering, Manufacturing and Development contract last month to proceed as JASSM's second-source propulsion system.
Financial impact
- No contract value was disclosed for the EMD award, so its effect on Kratos or GE Aerospace revenue is not yet quantifiable, timing not disclosed.
- Any resulting revenue would run through Kratos' unmanned systems segment and GE Aerospace's Edison Works advanced engines unit, timing not disclosed.
The intrigue
- A second-source engine could pressure the incumbent JASSM propulsion supplier if GEK800 testing continues to succeed.
- Further EMD milestones will determine whether the engine moves toward a production decision, which the article does not address.
The fine print
- The article does not disclose the value or duration of the EMD contract awarded last month.




