Industrial Base Alpha

US Navy awards $1.2B+ for 30+ medium unmanned surface vessels

•3 min read•Analysis
Mentioned:HII Huntington Ingalls IndustriesGalliano Marine ServicesSaronic TechnologiesLDOS LeidosPAC MARSea Machines$1.2B · Contract Award

The US Navy awarded OTA agreements to three companies for 30 medium unmanned surface vessels at approximately $40 million each after completing Phase 1 sea trials. Initial deliveries are expected by the end of fiscal year 2027.

What's happening

  • Galliano Marine Services, HII, and Saronic Technologies each received awards to deliver 10 MUSVs at roughly $40 million per vessel for a total contract value exceeding $1.2 billion.
  • Phase 1 sea trials tested vessel capabilities including maritime environment detection, collision avoidance, and long-duration mission performance.
  • Leidos, PAC MAR, and Sea Machines each received $15 million awards after completing unmanned surface vessel prototypes and gained marketplace access for DoD integration.
  • The Navy opened Phase 2 to bring additional systems and manufacturers into its online marketplace for unmanned surface vessels.

Why it matters

  • The transition from experimentation to operational deployment of 30+ vessels marks a significant production commitment that signals Navy confidence in autonomous surface vessel technology for fleet operations.
  • Using Other Transaction Authorities bypasses traditional acquisition bureaucracy, allowing the Navy to accelerate procurement and production timelines while competitors advance.
  • The online marketplace approach creates a recurring channel for sensor, weapons, and payload integration, establishing sustained demand for subsystem suppliers across the defense industrial base.
  • Operational MUSVs provide the Navy with platforms for long-duration missions and rapid mission payload reconfiguration as threats and requirements evolve.

Going deeper

  • Galliano Marine Services, HII, and Saronic Technologies collectively must scale production to deliver 10 vessels each by end of FY2027, roughly 18 months from award.
  • The marketplace strategy creates pathways for smaller companies like Sea Machines and PAC MAR to integrate their technologies across Navy and broader DoD platforms.
  • Sea trials evaluated autonomous navigation, environmental awareness, and extended mission duration, establishing minimum performance standards for operational fleet integration.

Financial impact

  • HII, Galliano Marine Services, and Saronic Technologies will recognize revenue over the 18-month performance period through end of FY2027; timing and payment schedule follow OTA agreement terms not disclosed.
  • The $1.2 billion in fleet awards and additional $15 million in prototype awards represent new backlog for three prime contractors and three subsystem integrators, supporting production staffing and supply chain commitments.
  • For smaller companies receiving $15 million prototype awards, these contracts provide operational revenue and marketplace access that can justify capital expenditure and hiring through FY2027.

The intrigue

  • The Navy is explicitly running a portfolio strategy with three prime contractors building identical vessel quantities, creating redundancy in production capacity but also introducing cost and efficiency competition that could reshape pricing expectations for autonomous maritime platforms.
  • Phase 2 marketplace expansion suggests the Navy views MUSVs as a platform architecture rather than a fixed design, betting that sustained sensor and payload integration will sustain demand and justify continued production beyond the initial 30-vessel commitment.

The fine print

  • Awards are OTA agreements, which carry fewer regulatory oversight requirements than traditional contracts but remain subject to anti-deficiency and appropriations law constraints.
  • Initial deliveries expected by end of FY2027 but production rates, payment milestones, and exercise options for additional vessels are not disclosed in the source materials.
  • The $40 million per-vessel baseline represents an average cost assumption; actual unit prices per contractor and learning-curve reductions over the production run are undisclosed.
Source: dronefront.com · Oct 1, 2026 · Drafted with Claude, reviewed by Industrial Base Alpha.

Related stories