Industrial Base Alpha

Army to award CAML Medium launcher platform within 30 days

•3 min read•Analysis
Two-tone U.S. Army photo of the Autonomous Multi-Domain Launcher firing a practice rocket at Yuma Proving Ground, mountains behind.
U.S. Army photo, DEVCOM Aviation & Missile Center (public domain)
Mentioned:Georgia Tech Research Institute

The U.S. Army is preparing an imminent award for the Common Autonomous Multi-Domain Launcher (CAML) Medium platform within 30 days, following completion of source selection. The service plans to consolidate multiple existing launcher platforms into 3 variants across Medium, Light, and Heavy configurations.

What's happening

  • Army to award CAML Medium platform contract within 30 days after finishing source selection, per Lt. Gen. Frank Lozano, program acquisition executive for fires.
  • Georgia Tech Research Institute already selected as weapon systems integrator for CAML Medium, receiving $33.4 million deal in September 2024 as first key step in development.
  • CAML Light partnership with Australia to initiate in 2027, with potential prototype selections in spring 2027 and live fire demonstration at Talisman Sabre exercise June-July 2027.
  • CAML Heavy variant planned for launch around 2028-2029 timeframe to handle larger missile systems including Leviathan and Long-Range Hypersonic Weapon.

Why it matters

  • CAML consolidates multiple existing Army launcher platforms, each with its own unique launcher, down to maximum of 3 variants, reducing production and supply chain complexity.
  • CAML Medium designed at 36,000-pound gross vehicle weight rating to carry diverse munitions including Tomahawk, PAC-3 MSE, MLRS family, and indirect fire protection interceptors.
  • Multi-domain autonomous capability addresses Army modernization priority for fires systems that are air-transportable and optionally crewed to support joint operations.
  • International partnership with Australia for CAML Light expands allied interoperability and potential foreign military sales revenue opportunities for eventual production.

Going deeper

  • Army conducted live fire test of Reduced Range Practice Rocket from autonomous multi-domain launcher at Yuma Proving Ground in April 2024 to validate autonomous firing capability.
  • CAML Medium defined at 36,000-pound weight after initial industry proposals came in heavier than required; Army reassessed munitions mix and employment concepts with combatant commands.
  • Subsequent awards beyond GTRI contract will cover autonomous mobility platform and additional program components, with timing in coming months.
  • Army plans RFI and industry day for CAML Light, followed by prototype selections and potential downselect award post-demonstration.

Financial impact

  • Georgia Tech Research Institute received $33.4 million fixed-price development contract in September 2024 for CAML Medium weapon systems integration work.
  • CAML Medium award value and ceiling not disclosed; revenue recognition will follow contract performance schedule after award within 30 days.
  • Timing of subsequent component awards (autonomous mobility platform and other subsystems) not disclosed but expected in coming months after primary platform award.
  • CAML Light and Heavy programs have no disclosed contract values or obligation timelines; Australian partnership structure and funding not disclosed.

The intrigue

  • Army shifted strategy from concurrent Medium and Heavy development to sequential Medium-first approach after learning industry platforms exceeded weight targets; whether this delays heavy fires capability is unclear.
  • CAML Light with Australia may precede CAML Heavy by 12-18 months, potentially creating integration challenges if Light variant design drives requirements for later Heavy platform.
  • Autonomous resupply capability ('inherent' versus separate vehicle) remains unresolved design choice that could affect platform architecture across all three variants.

The fine print

  • CAML Medium award is imminent within 30 days but not yet finalized; source selection complete but approval and contract signing pending.
  • CAML Light and Heavy timelines described as flexible; Army will 'massage and adjust' based on industry delivery capabilities and emerging requirements.
  • CAML platforms described as potential augmentation or replacement for existing Army launchers; full scope of launcher retirement and recapitalization not defined.
  • CAML Light live fire demonstration at Talisman Sabre 2027 is contingent; downselect award timing depends on demonstration success.
Source: Defense Daily · Oct 14, 2026 · Drafted with Claude, reviewed by Industrial Base Alpha.

Related stories

Two-tone U.S. Army photo of an Anduril Ghost-X unmanned helicopter in flight, on a plain sand background.
Autonomy

Pentagon launches Project Agincourt, $1B autonomous warfare initiative

The Pentagon established Project Agincourt to create a four-star Autonomous Warfare Command coordinating unmanned systems across the joint force. The initiative deploys $1B in drone-dominance funding with plans to field hundreds of thousands of one-way attack systems this year.

Two-tone rendering, not a photograph, of an Odys Aviation Laila drone carrying Honeywell's airborne counter-drone payload, on a plain sand background.
Autonomy

Honeywell Aerospace lands $1.5B DHS counter-UAS contract

EMS Defense Technologies, a Honeywell Aerospace subsidiary, won a $1.5 billion ceiling IDIQ contract to supply counter-unmanned aircraft systems hardware, software and services to the Department of Homeland Security.