Industrial Base Alpha

DoD commits $150M conditional loan to Stoke Space for second launchpad

•1 min read•Analysis
The Mercury-Atlas 6 rocket carrying Friendship 7 on its launch stand at Launch Complex 14, Cape Canaveral, in early 1962, isolated on a plain sand background.
NASA photo KSC-LOD-62-475, 1962 (public domain). Rights basis: public_domain_usgov
Mentioned:Stoke Space$150M · Government Support

The Defense Department committed $150 million in conditional loan financing to Stoke Space for construction of a second launchpad at Cape Canaveral Space Force Station. The backing follows Stoke's $1 billion Series E round and targets launch of its Nova pathfinder rocket in early 2027.

What's happening

  • DoD's Office of Strategic Capital signed a $150 million conditional loan commitment to Stoke Space for launchpad infrastructure at Cape Canaveral.
  • The financing supports construction of a second launchpad to increase national space launch capacity.
  • Stoke raised $1 billion in Series E funding to support Nova pathfinder rocket's first launch planned for early 2027.

Why it matters

  • Additional launch capacity reduces dependence on a limited number of providers and strengthens resilience of U.S. space access.
  • Stoke's orbital reusable launch vehicle technology expands the national industrial base for responsive space lift.
  • Government loan support de-risks commercial launcher development during critical pre-revenue phase.

Financial impact

  • Conditional loan provides capital for Stoke's capex on launchpad construction without immediate equity dilution, timing not disclosed.
  • Stoke holds $1 billion in Series E proceeds as working capital and R&D funding for 2026-2027 operations.
  • Revenue recognition will begin upon Nova's first commercial launch scheduled for early 2027, with timing dependent on mission success.

The fine print

  • Loan is conditional, meaning disbursement hinges on Stoke meeting undisclosed milestones or compliance requirements.
  • Terms of the conditional loan, including drawdown schedule, interest rate and repayment timeline, were not disclosed.
Source: Defense Daily · Oct 26, 2026 · Drafted with Claude, reviewed by Industrial Base Alpha.

Related stories